Board Members

Nunavut Impact Review Board
Organizational Chart (March 2014)

The Board consists of up to nine members, appointed by the Government of Canada and Government of Nunavut from nominations made by the federal and territorial government as well as the designated Inuit organization, Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated:

  • A Chairperson is appointed by the Government of Canada in consultation with the Government of Nunavut, on nomination by the Nunavut Impact Review Board
  • 4 Board Members are appointed by the Government of Canada, on nomination by Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated collects nominations for 3 of these positions from the regional Inuit associations
  • 2 Board Members appointed directly by the Government of Nunavut
  • 2 Board Members appointed directly by the Government of Canada
  • 2 alternate Board Members are also appointed by the Government of Canada on nomination by Makivik Corporation, the designated Inuit organization for Nunavik (Northern Quebec). These 2 Board Members can replace 2 of the Board Members appointed through nominations from Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated for assessments in ‘areas of joint use’ as set out in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement

Each appointed member’s term is for a period of three years and a member may be reappointed.

All decisions of the NIRB are decided by a majority of votes cast and are required to have a quorum of members (generally 5 members). All members of the NIRB have a vote, except the Chairperson, who only votes to break a tie. These nine individuals form a unique and independent decision-making body. Although they rely upon their Government and Inuit Organization partners for advice and for technical assistance, the members of the NIRB make their decisions on behalf of Nunavumiut (public of Nunavut) and the rest of Canada, and not as agents of their appointing bodies.




Elizabeth Copland

Position: Chairperson
Term Expiry: November 25, 2015
Home Community: Arviat, NU
Appointment Agency: AANDC on recommendation of NIRB
Elizabeth has served on the Board for over ten years, chairing it for several of those years. She has also served on the Board of the Nunavut Planning Commission, and has further served her community as justice of the peace and economic development officer. Elizabeth was born and raised in Arviat, where she has served as a local radio announcer and a Hamlet Councillor. Elizabeth was trained and continues to work as a Coroner for Nunavut. She went to high school in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Elizabeth speaks both English and Inuktitut.


Guy Alikut

Position: Board Member
Term Expiry: March 15, 2014
Home Community: Arviat, NU
Appointment Agency: AANDC on recommendation of NTI and KitIA
Originally appointed in March, 2011, Guy is currently serving the third year of his first term as a NIRB Board Member. He has a rich background of life experience, including serving on the Arviat and Keewatin Chambers of Commerce, serving as Mayor of Arviat, as well as serving on the Board of Directors of several organizations. He was the Commissioner of the Nunavut Implementation Commission, and the President of three private enterprises. Guy has lived in Arviat his whole life. He speaks both English and Inuktitut.


Marjorie Kaviq Kaluraq

Position: Board Member
Term Expiry: February 8, 2017
Home Community: Iqaluit, NU
Appointment Agency: GN
Kaviq joined the Board in February 2010. Originally from Baker Lake, she now lives in Iqaluit where she teaches at the Nunavut Arctic College. Kaviq completed a Bachelor of Science degree with Honours in Environmental and Resources Science at Trent University in Peterborough. She has volunteered extensively and been involved in various projects in Peterborough and across Nunavut, including serving as a member of Circle K Trent, a branch of Kiwanis International. Kaviq speaks both English and Inuktitut.


Phillip Kadlun

Position: Board Member
Term Expiry: April 6, 2016
Home Community: Kugluktuk, NU
Appointment Agency: GNPhillip
Phillip was born in the Umingmaktok area and grew up in Bay Chimo. He joined the Board in 2009. Phillip has served as the Chairperson for both the Umingmaktok and Kugluktuk HTOs. He currently lives in Kugluktuk, where he is involved with the community through hunting, as well as volunteering for Search and Rescue. He also serves as a Lands Guide. Phillip is fluent in both English and Inuinnaqtun.



Position: Board Member
Term Expiry:
Home Community:
Appointment Agency:


Glenn McLean

Position: Board Member
Term Expiry: March 19, 2016
Home Community: Baker Lake, NU
Appointment Agency: AANDC
Glenn was appointed to the Board in March 2013. Glen served previously as a member of Nunavut’s first Legislative Assembly of Nunavut from 1999-2004. Glen lives in Baker Lake and is a convenience-store owner and former hamlet councillor as well as a former board member of Qulliq Energy Corporation. Glen's first language is English.